The Parts-of-Speech: How to Teach Them Explicitly and Systematicaly

There are eight parts-of-speech in English. Some linguists list a 9th part-of-speech: interjections.

  1. noun
  2. verb
  3. adjective
  4. adverb
  5. pronoun
  6. article (sometimes called "determiners")
  7. conjunction
  8. prepositions
  9. (interjections)

The first parts-of-speech to be taught are usually nouns and then verbs, since these parts form the components of a "base sentence." As soon as the concepts noun and verb have been learned the concept of a sentence can be taught: 

A sentence is a group of words that contains a subject and a verb.  (NOTE: Subjects are usually, but not always,  nouns or pronouns.)


Just as they are taught phonological, morphological and orthographic elements explicitly and systematically, clients with language processing deficits often need to be taught these sentence elements explicitly and systematically. This means that the clinician must explicitly define the part-of-speech and then lead the client in ample practice identifying it. 

Since people with language processing deficits often have great difficulty using verbal definitions (explanations, categories, rules, etc.) alone visual organizers can help with explicit definition and identification of each part-of-speech.

Here are links to examples of visual cuing charts for the explicit teaching of:


Please sign in to leave a comment.